Board of Education

The nine* members of Chatham’s Board of Education are volunteers who are elected to three-year terms and receive no pay. A president and vice president are selected each year at the July organizational meeting. The Board acts as a collective body to establish the policies under which the Chatham Central School District operates. The Superintendent of Schools is responsible for administering the school program within the context of these policies. Learn more about the role of Board of Education members.

*In 2020, voters approved a proposition to reduce the Board to seven members, starting with the 2021-22 school year. The reduction is being implemented to reflect the District’s shrinking enrollment and because small communities have increasingly experienced difficulties in attracting enough candidates to fill large Boards.

The Board of Education invites the community to attend meetings to learn about the educational issues and topics the Board is considering. We value your interest and encourage you to come and voice any questions or comments you may have about our schools.

Meeting Agendas, Minutes, and District Policies

The Board of Ed uses BoardDocs, a paperless meetings system, for our meeting agendas and associated documents. To access agendas, meeting minutes, and District policies please visit our BoardDocs website.

2020-2021 Board Members

Term Expires

Craig Simmons, Presidentsimmonsc@chatham.k12.ny.us2022
Patricia Wilson, Vice Presidentwilsonp@chatham.k12.ny.us2023
Denise Barrybarryd@chatham.k12.ny.us2021
Muriel Faxonfaxonm@chatham.k12.ny.us2022
Matthew Fischfischm@chatham.k12.ny.us2023
Destiny Hallenbeckhallenbeckd@chatham.k12.ny.us2023
Beth Hoverhoverb@chatham.k12.ny.us2021
Ted Minerminert@chatham.k12.ny.us2021
Christopher Spencerspencerc@chatham.k12.ny.us2021
Student Representative TBA2021

Please choose one of the following areas for more information

Audio Recordings of Board Meetings

Want to know what’s happening at Board of Education meetings but can’t always make it there? CCSD provides audio recordings of Board meetings upon request. Requests can be made to the Superintendent’s Office, 518-392-1501.